100 Word Challenge: Another view

Julia’s 100 Word Challenge for Grownups strikes again! This week, we’re asked to add 100 words of a story to this prompt

… would seven prove to be too much? …..

And here’s my attempt:

Another View

Selfish, silly, sneaky – what can one expect of a girl raised from birth by servants? I moved too fast from stranger to stepmother to, I hoped, mother, and made all worse.

If kindly firmness will not teach conduct becoming a princess, perhaps shock will. Away from the palace, forced into a life with very strange strangers…yes.

Now, how many guards and tutors – three or four? No, too easy to trick. Would seven prove to be too much? I think not, and I must risk it, for now her father is angry. If I do nothing, his wrath will fall on one or both of us, me or Snow White.

21 responses to “100 Word Challenge: Another view

  1. Lovely post! The story was enrapturing!

    Adieu, scribbler

  2. So it’s not as black and white as I thought! Lovely story!

  3. So very Sharon! Amazing the impact of a change of perspective. That’s two beauts this week ::-)

    • Thank you thank you! Everybody has reasons that make sense to them…of course, we can wonder just how that “kindly firmness” would look to an observer, can’t we?

  4. My sort of story – I love alternative takes on fairytales.

    • Mostly it came from wondering “what sort of things come in sevens?”, but I enjoyed turning the dwarves into colleagues or assistants to Snow White’s stepmother! Glad you like it.

  5. That made me smile, very good 🙂

  6. Great alternative perspective, nicely done!

  7. Very good Sharon. I feel sure Snow White would’ve been selfish, silly and sneaky!

  8. Really loved that flowing language, Sharon. The queen’s dilemma is well-felt, and paints her in a new light I hadn’t considered. I do love sympathetic “villain” retellings, and yours works well. I’d like to read more from her perspective! 🙂

    • Thank you! Except for the first three exasperated words, she’s using deliberately “high” diction. That (real world) is to fit with the style of the prompt, and (fictional world) to fit with her self-image of how she ought to talk, and think, now that she’s a queen – she has a few grammar slips; maybe her background isn’t as queenly as she would like? In that case – and I’m thinking out their characterizations as I write this reply – it could be that Snow White isn’t that bratty; she just doesn’t match the picture her stepmother as of what a princess should be. (After all, we know that she flourishes with the dwarves.)

      But yes, it was fun telling the beginning of the story from the queen’s point of view and giving her motives that she at least tells herself are well-meant. 😀

      Maybe I should do an occasional post with “100 Word Challenge” or “Friday Fictioneers” next chapters….

  9. What an excellent story, very well written x

  10. Lovely new twist in the tale. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

