Daily Archives: August 30, 2012

Travel theme: Silhouette

This week, I’m having a difficult time with all the photography themes…but Ailsa’s travel theme, Silhouette, was so challenging I wound up cheating.

Ailsa has some lovely photos on her site of people silhouetted against an illuminated fountain. I have absolutely nothing that qualifies as a silhouette. So I selected a photo I took in Florence of a statue looming against the sky, converted it to black and white, and here we are:Cosimo di Medici, with horse. One glance at his face tells you he’s not a man to cross. I think I’m just as well pleased he stopped being involved in Florentine politics long before I visited his city.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

This time, WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge asks for pictures that say “Urban” to us. Actually, it’s a little more complicated than that: they specify “photograph your city and the streets where you grew up”.

Well, I finally made it over to Philly this afternoon and took some random photos – more will be in a “Day Trip / Tourist at Home” post to come. But, well, I didn’t grow up in a city, so I’m going to start off with something else:

This is more like what I grew up seeing. Now, what does a city look like?

Philadelphia is tall buildings

and subways

and people relaxing in Rittenhouse Square on a pleasant late-summer afternoon.