Daily Archives: August 29, 2012

100 word challenge: Fine Cuisine

Well, Julia’s back to giving us phrases, not pictures, as a starting point for our 100 word stories. Of course, clarity is important, and this week the prompt is “… being clear is essential to …

My story clearly begins with a bored student…

Fine Cuisine

“Now, the basis for everything is a good stock. First take a good knuckle of veal…” Blah, blah. “…extracting all the nuances of flavor…” Don’t care. “…a cloudy broth is useless. Being clear is essential to a good sparkling consomme…” Let me out of here.

“You!” Chef barks suddenly. “And what would you use to clarify stock?”

Oh no, he’s pointing at me. Think. The heck with thinking, just say something ridiculous and get it over with. “Crushed eggshells,” I blurt.

For once, Chef looks surprised. “Well. Yes, some chefs use them. And you must add…”

When class is over, I’m going for pizza.