100 Word Challenge for Grownups – The Successful Life

This week, the prompt for Julia’s 100 word challenge is “in the dark recess of my mind“.

I’ve probably spent too much time reading advice on How To Be Organized and How To Be Successful. Anyhow, this is what bubbled up –

The Successful Life

It’s best, they say, to get your thoughts in order, lined up in order of priority. If only, if only, you can keep your innermost self brightly lit and tidy, a big-box store of the soul, you’ll achieve your goals.

But…what is this green curling sprout of an idea forcing its way up, daring to make disorderly unsupervised plans? Down there in the dark recess of my mind, what lurks?

The usual things you find in darkness. Seeds swelling and unfolding and sprouting. Trolls sheltering from the petrifying sun. Jewels waiting to be found, cleaned, faceted so they can reflect light in unexpected patterns. Treasures.

24 responses to “100 Word Challenge for Grownups – The Successful Life

  1. Oh, I like your dark recesses better than mine! Yours are filled with new life, and treasures and interesting characters.

    • I bet yours are too – you just need to shove the trolls out of the way! (Those trolls tend to be possessive and don’t want outsiders snooping into their secrets.) And I do love your trunk that’s as big as it needs to be – of course, I have a perennial problem of not enough space to put stuff 😉

  2. I love your treasure,trolls, seeds and jewels, just perfect and I hope you keep digging them out one by one!

  3. Yep there are days when I think the trolls are sat on the precious gems.

  4. I love your way with words! So much said with so few words.
    Sadly (when I feel like talking) I tend to be the opposite. Why say it in 20, when you can ramble it in 200?

    • I tend to start by rambling! Then I go back with the scissors, or the branch loppers, as needed, and remove most of them. But first I have to let it all sprout up like weeds and find out what’s there and what shape it’s trying to grow into.

      I’m glad you like this – thank you!

  5. I like this a lot. The build-up is neat and vivid, and that final word draws it all together perfectly.

  6. Really lovely. And I understand trolls enjoy green curling sprouts 😉

  7. The dark recess of your mind sounds so much more welcoming than mine. I think I may move in.

  8. Midlife Singlemum

    The dark recess of your mind sounds like my parents’ attic before they downsized. All sorts of treasures and surprises from the past.

  9. Oooh I like your take on the dark recesses. Good to remember that these dark places can sometimes ‘hide’ treasures as well.

  10. Very nice interpretation! I especially like the way the prompt flows so naturally from the idea of sprouting ideas. 🙂

  11. Think I had better go and find my inner troll – bet he’s the one who makes me eat chocolate against my will.

Leave a comment