Daily Archives: December 9, 2012

Not the 100 Word Challenge for Grownups: No Help

This, I’m afraid, is an exercise in doing it wrong. Normally I have enough sense to check Julia’s Place for the correct prompt to use in writing a story for the weekly 100 Word Challenge for Grownups. But this time I was in a hurry, so when I looked at my email alerting me to Gilly Gee’s story for this week’s 100 Word Challenge, I thought that the phrase Gilly starts with (“too late for some”) was the challenge. And I wrote the story that follows to incorporate it.

It wasn’t until I had this post half-done that I checked Julia’s site so I could link to the correct address. So it wasn’t until then that I realized the real prompt was the photo of a nearly-empty plate…oops.

Well, there’s tomorrow. I’ll tackle the real challenge then. Meanwhile, here’s 104 words of a little mother-daughter disagreement –

No Help

I had to work too late for some serious Christmas shopping last evening. “I don’t know what I’m going to do,” I told Samantha. “By the time I get there, everything will be closed.”

“Oh, mother, you always say that. Just order some gifts online. They’re open round the clock.”

“And you always say that. You know I don’t trust this computer stuff. What if they sent me the wrong thing?”

“No problem. You just ship it back and they correct it.”

I shook my head at her pityingly. Poor child, she’s so hard to deal with. She always wants to fix my problems.