Getting back to my comfort zone

Sometimes we lose track of habits, even ones that make us happy. That’s been happening to me over the past six months while learning to cope with my mother’s declining health.

For years, I’ve been in the habit of walking a lot – actually, that started when I sprained my ankle badly a long time ago. (Falling down a couple of steps is disorienting enough. Falling down steps, coming to a stop lying on your side, and looking over at your left foot bent sideways at a 90 degree angle, with the sole flat on the floor, is not a good thing.) Even after the sprain healed, my ankle was weak and painful, until I started walking routinely. That seemed to strengthen the muscles so that they could stabilize my foot in a way that the damaged ligaments can’t manage any more.

So, for me, walking isn’t just one of those things you do because it’s recommended. Neglecting it makes me feel bad; my ankle aches, my gait gets a little wobbly, life is not good. And yet, from late September till early this year, I hardly walked at all. I didn’t have much time; I didn’t have enough focus to know how to best use the time I had.

Fairly recently, I’ve spent at least some time on our treadmill every week, and that’s a good thing. Outside walking, though? Not at all, even though it’s been one of the mildest winters I can remember. Even though I knew perfectly well I would feel better and cope better if I could get back to what used to be normal, something in me wanted to balk.

But this week, at last, at last, I made it outside, enticed by spring. Leaves are unfurling. Trees are covered with flowers. I headed outside with my little camera to celebrate. It wasn’t really a trip outside my comfort zone so much as a return to it.

With flowers.

8 responses to “Getting back to my comfort zone

  1. What beautiful blossom, none here yet. When we have to do something just for ourselves its harder to get motivated, but keep going.

    • You’re so right! As for blossoms – they’re early here this year, and out of sequence. Some of our normal April flowers started in early March, but other plants that usually give us our first glimpse of spring are just starting, like the forsythia. (The forsythia “feel” late, but I think they’re really blooming at their normal time.)

  2. It’s wonderful to get back into the habit of walking, isn’t it? Once you’ve finished you feel so much more alive and aware of your world! Bravo to you!

  3. Lovely flowers, keeping positing….

Leave a Reply

