Daily Archives: July 3, 2012

100 Word Challenge for Grownups – A Bad Day

This week, Julia’s 100 Word Challenge for Grownups has gone back to giving us a phrase to start from instead of a picture. The current prompt is “…I blamed it on the dog…” and we’re allowed to add 100 words for a total of 106.

I went over the quota by twelve words, but I’m posting it anyhow.

A Bad Day

I ate three doughnuts at coffee break, because I skipped breakfast, because I had to walk the dog. So I blamed the doughnuts on the dog.

I messed up at the big meeting, because I was in a sugar slump, because I ate three doughnuts. So I blamed it on the dog.

I blew through a stop sign on the way home, because I was in a foul mood, and I got a ticket. So I blamed the ticket on the dog.

I walked in the door and guess who was all over me wagging his tail like I was the best thing in the history of the world, and I cheered right up.

Who’s a good boy?