It’s been a hundred days

UPSwamp…since the start of my second try at getting my house all cleaned up. How’m I doing? Have I drained my own personal swamp? Is the place immaculate and empty?

Well, no. It’s cleaner than it was, and less cluttered, but there’s a lot left to do. And it’s really nobody’s fault. I’m overcommitted, and that’s part of the problem – but nobody could have predicted, more than three months ago, that I would be still be filling in for our church treasurer, let alone that my father-in-law’s health would take a nosedive.

So what do you do when you have too many things to do, and can’t walk away from the ones that eat up the largest amount of time? You make lots of lists so you don’t forget two-thirds of the things that HAVE TO get done today, and you reluctantly let some things slide that you’d like to do, and you take one step forward after another and try not to trip over your own feet.

And you cook a very simple Thanksgiving dinner, today. Never mind making Thanksgiving “interesting” – we’ll be eating roast turkey, with sweet potatoes, cranberries, salad, and pumpkin pie; just the basics, thank you.

I suppose it’s a good thing that I’m more of natural marathoner than a sprinter. I will have a clean house with no unloved junk in it – but probably not in 2015.

9 responses to “It’s been a hundred days

  1. … wrestling your own personal ‘gators …
    … eaten by ‘skeeters …
    So glad you can go the distance !!!

  2. You can only do what you can.

  3. How do you eat an elephant…one bite at a time. That saying is what gets me through times like you are going through. You will get there, in your own pace, so don’t sweat it.

  4. πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„
    Yuletide
    salutations
    πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„

Leave a comment