Friday Fictioneers – Hidden

This is my first Friday Fictioneers story in – how many months? Oh yeah, eight. Nothing since January. I’ve been too busy and too tired to write.

How about you? Do you have stories to tell? Take a look at Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ prompt picture, and share your hundred words with the world.

And while you’re at it, see what the other Fictioneers came up with.

moon-and-sky1Hidden

Safe.

Free.

They’re searching, but they can’t see me in this gulley under the bushes. No more locks, no more guards, no more shouting. I can go anywhere.

I could go anywhere if I could stand up.

This is a good hideout – shelter and water. I wonder if this little stream’s clean? It’s cold, anyhow.

Cold’s good. Makes my ankle throb less. I wonder if I broke any bushes falling in here? They could see that.

There goes another one with a flashlight. So bright. Looks like the sun. They’ll never see me. I could stay down here forever.

HELP!

10 responses to “Friday Fictioneers – Hidden

  1. Great take on the prompt!

  2. Wish he could hide there forever. But he needs help.

  3. Dear Sharon,

    Nice to see you again. I felt the tension in this piece. I think he’s going to get hungry after a while.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Very hungry! His plan was to run and run cross country through the woods until he got to someplace where he could steal a car, and food. Then he fell into a ditch…well, sometimes things don’t go as intended.

      I’m very glad to be back. And I hope you’re feeling better now after your adventures in dentistry (which are never ever fun).

  4. I guess he thinks it’s better to be imprisoned than dead. Depends on the country he’s in, I suppose. Good story.

    • Yes, that’s exactly what he thinks.

      From what I’ve read, it’s no picnic to be imprisoned anywhere – but you have a point about different places. We don’t know where he is or why he was jailed, so we don’t know whether he’s making a smart choice or whether he panicked and will be worse off.

      Glad you like it.

  5. good to see you again and enjoyed that one just as much as all the rest

Leave a Reply

