Friday Fictioneers – Detour

Friday Fictioneers! The continuing saga that answers the question, “How many different stories can people tell, if they all start from the same picture?” Take a look at Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ site to find out, and add your own story if you want to.

But first, please take a look at my version and let me know what you think of it.

bike_detour_at_library_randy_mazieDetour

It’d be funny, if I was in a better mood. I mean, who tucks a DETOUR sign between two trees with the arrow aiming you into the library? But I just figure it must be kids. Nothing to me.

I got enough to think about. Do I look to you like the kind of guy that goes to the library for fun? No? Hey, you’re pretty sharp.Β  I got perfectly good plans, no books involved.

No meetings either. “You show up at ten tomorrow morning”, they said, “or you know what happens.” Yeah. You know what? They can toss their job training out the window. I got to stay on track, no detours. I’m a busy man. I got banks to rob.

14 responses to “Friday Fictioneers – Detour

  1. opening para was a real surprise, good

  2. Hahahaha that caught me by surprise!

  3. Dear Sharon,

    Nope I’ll not be looking for this bozo in a library. πŸ˜‰ Clever twist. And Nice to see you here.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. haha made me smile πŸ˜€

  5. The ending caught me by surprise. Well done!

  6. Dear Sharon,

    Great twist on a good tale. I like the crisp dialog and stream of consciousness in this piece. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Your character was really well portrayed. An enjoyable read πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

