Staying out of the quicksand

UPSwampAlmost a week and a half ago, I signed myself up with Write31Days to write a post every day during October – partly to get myself back in the habit of daily posting after a very sparse ten months. Write 31 Days asks you to choose a category for your posts, and since I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to make my life less chaotic, I picked “Simplicity and Organizing.” It seemed to make sense at the time.

Posting something every day still makes sense to me. Posting something daily about being organized? Not so much. I’ve tried to organize myself many times, and one of the ways I get off track and wind up lost deep in the swamp is that I spend too much time thinking and not enough time doing.

But to write a post, you have to think about your topic. Every day, you need to come up with something new and different; it’s not acceptable – it’s not interesting – to say “Well, I’m still testing the idea of organizing one room at a time, so I’ll just repost what I said about that yesterday.”

It’s time to back off a little. When I have something to say about organizing.  about things that work and about total failures, I’ll put up a post about that. (Maybe I’ll even plan to eventually write a total of thirty-one posts on the subject.) When I’m continuing to work on draining the swamp and either chasing the alligators out or giving them chores to do, I’ll write  – or post pictures – about something else.

Just call me a mutineer. Arrrgh.

5 responses to “Staying out of the quicksand

  1. It is hard to keep up with posting daily.

  2. If you drain the swamp the alligators will have nowhere to live – poor things! The 31 days is about you and your life, in fact every day and every post is about you x

Leave a Reply

