Big mouthfuls

UPSwampThere’s one nice thing about cliches – they wouldn’t be cliches if they weren’t true more often than we want to admit! So I can be sure that I’m not the only person who keeps biting off more than she can chew.

This time, I volunteered to take charge of our yearly church book sale (the woman who usually handles it will be out of town). And it’s coming up next Saturday. Less than a week. Less and less prep time with every minute that goes past.

It’s not that I need to do everything myself – lots of people have promised to help. But I have to remember to get various things done in the next few days, and I have to keep an eye on what’s happening during the sale and see to it that any problems get solved. I’ve bitten off more than I might be able to chew – and, yeah, I’m scared.

And I keep getting into situations like this, over and over. Of course, the standard advice is simple: Stand up for yourself. Don’t agree to do things. The trouble is, refusing wouldn’t solve the problem – because I volunteer to do things I want to do, or things that are part of reaching goals I care about. What I need to do, I’m sure, is to get rid of all the annoyances that make ordinary days a challenge  – in other words, I have to become organized.

Did I mention I’ve never been organized?

5 responses to “Big mouthfuls

  1. One word for you, Sharon–lists.

    janet

  2. By next Monday it will all be over and it will have happened or it won’t and you can’t change it – so turn up so what you have to, smile and don’t take any books home, in fact it’s a great opportunity to leave some books behind 🙂

Leave a Reply

