Lost in the priority swamp

UPSwampThe thing is, it’s not like I haven’t tried to get organized. Oh, how I’ve tried. Over and over, and I wouldn’t be writing this post today if I’d ever succeeded. Maybe, this time, I should start by asking where I went off track in the past.

Now, if you’ve ever felt the need to be more in control, you probably know that there are lots and lots of books and blogs eager to tell you the right way to make everything all better. Once upon a time, I consulted them all. They seem to fall into two types: the ones that give you hundreds of little tips, each on how to deal with one little individual thing – I’ll write about those another day – and the ones that offer an overall system so you can make sure you cope with what really matters.

You’ve read them. List all your goals. Assign A-B-C priorities depending on how important they are. Do the “A’s” first. Delegate as many “B’s” and “C’s” as possible. (Somehow, the people who write this stuff assume that everyone has an underling to delegate to.) Don’t worry if the “C’s” never get done. And, at last,  skip into Nirvana with your arms around the necks of rainbow-colored unicorns while bunnies and puppies and kittens frolic at your feet. For those of us who think in top-down systems, the A-B-C approach sounds great.

Only it doesn’t work. Not for me, at least; and I have to wonder how the books stay in print if this approach works for anybody. Who needs to buy problem-solving books once you’ve made it all the way to Nirvana?

(….more tomorrow….)

6 responses to “Lost in the priority swamp

  1. I’ve never been able to work on a logical prioritised system – only on a this-is-the-most-annoying-thing-so-I’d-better-do-it principle.

  2. I have a C and G approach these days – Chuck it out or Get rid! Works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

