Friday Fictioneers: Love-in-a-mist

Here we go again – hundred word stories (more or less), based on the latest Friday Fictioneers photo prompt chosen by the one and only Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

copyright-erin-leary-2Love-in-a-Mist

When it’s foggy, I remember. I had gone for a walk, but soon I couldn’t see where I was. I climbed to the top of a hill, where the fog was thinner, and then he appeared. At first he was only a moving blur. I watched as he came closer and took shape.

He was young, but his clothes belonged to another century. He started when he first saw me, and then shrugged and accepted my appearance, strange though I looked to him. We talked for minutes, or hours – I don’t know – until the fog lifted. He faded with it.

For years, I searched for him every foggy day, but magic only happens once. At least he left me a token, my dear child. If only I could have left something with him.

21 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Love-in-a-mist

  1. Ahh a spirit child, how wonderful 🙂

  2. Cool. Nice Twilight Zone-type experience.

  3. That’s a beautiful vignette. Full of love and no regrets.

  4. I would think that searching for a memory like that – it’s more likely to appear in your dreams.

  5. Great story! I can almost feel his presence.

  6. Such a beautiful ethereal feel to this. I’m sure your narrator gave him something, even though she doesn’t know it.

  7. I like this a lot. I had similar thoughts, and they crept into my story.

  8. a bit of mystery wrapped up in this love story. beautifully done.

  9. Romance with a dreamworld touch. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  10. Dear Sharon,

    I love the ethereal feel of this. It took me a couple of reads to realize what the “token” was. Reminds me a little of Starman in that regard. Nice one. And nice to see you here.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thank you, Rochelle! As for the ethereal feel – I’m glad to know that I managed to convey the mood I wanted. The token was meant to be slightly ambiguous; let’s just note that talking wasn’t the only thing they did.

      I’m sorry this reply was delayed – I was away and Internetless for several days.

Leave a Reply

