Friday Fictioneers – True Love

And once again it’s time for Friday Fictioneers – hundred word snippets of fiction, all based one way or another on Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s photo of the week. I’m not sure just what this story of mine is. Is it romance? Is it horror? You tell me. And write your own story about Rochelle’s chosen picture; then share it with the rest of us.

al_forbesTrue Love

She was so beautiful.

I don’t know why I say “was”. Centuries wouldn’t change her.

When we met, she was wearing a vast skirt that swayed delightfully as she walked, balanced by a tight bodice and a huge bonnet that almost hid her face – the sort of thing my sisters said was the latest fashion. We promenaded and talked for hours.

At last I drew her close. With my free hand, I untied her bonnet. “Don’t, my heart,” she said. “You’ll regret it.”

I tilted her chin up. Her tears ran down the snaky hair coiling against her cheeks.

I could be free again, she said. If I forgot her.

But I’ll never forget you, my lovely Medusa.

27 responses to “Friday Fictioneers – True Love

  1. i was really caught up in the scene that you created. beautiful ,sad,romantic tale 🙂

  2. Oh dear! Beware of girls in bonnets.

  3. Eeps!Well,his love for her was for eternity& he is still proving it:-)

  4. Awwwww, it was sweet, romantic and sad all in 100 words. Ah, wouldn’t we all wish we were unforgettable? I love the telling of the story, the descriptions you chose when you described her attire, the tilt of her head and the tears that rolled down her cheek…very well told! 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, we dream of being unforgettable – but always being a quick glimpse and then nothing but an unchanging obsession could become burdensome after a few thousand years. As for her attire – those fashions from the 1830’s or 1840’s look very prim and proper to us, but young men will be young men in any century, so I asked myself what my character would notice about a young (he thinks) woman (he thinks) in clothes like that. At first I had Medusa smiling sweetly when he tilted her head up, but under the circumstances, a smile seemed sinister – and the tears emphasize her snakes better, I think, as well as letting us know she’s upset about the situation. I’m glad you like it.

  5. Poor Medusa is still waiting then – trust a man to spoil it for her!

  6. Dear Sharon,

    You do Medusa proud with that one. And what greeted her comment? Stony silence.

    Good story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Dear Sharon,

    I winced when he went for her bonnet. Poor lady, turning everyone to stone that way. Makes for some stiff and stagnant relationships. I did enjoy your story, Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Yes – taking off her bonnet, in public, was not exactly a smooth move. Kind of overaggressive. He’s young, or he was then. And under the circumstances, it really wasn’t a good idea.

      “Stiff and stagnant relationships” – definitely. How would you go about looking for love, I wonder, if you were Medusa?

      Glad you liked the story, Rochelle.

  8. Oh, this was just lovely. Sad and bittersweet. A different take on the story of Medusa. Well done!

  9. I like how you gave her that human side.

  10. Yes, and curiosity killed this cat. As sweet as this tale is, he took improper advantage of a young lady. He did not know she was an ancient deity, so for him, she was an innocent maiden, and the removal of her bonnet was very imprudent, almost as if he had seen her ankle!

    • Exactly! I find I can read this one at least two different ways, as a sweet, tragic romance with two lovers dangerously caught up in their passion, or as the story of a young man who was only thinking about what he wanted and got an unexpected smackdown. It depends partly on what was going on in Medusa’s mind, and we really don’t have much information about that.

      What we do know is that (if she had been an innocent maiden) he was putting her in a humiliating situation by taking her bonnet off – by the standards of the day, a gentleman should have restrained himself.

  11. My my how forward of him to take off her bonnet. Great story though. Guess he won’t be doing that again. 😉

  12. Well now even Goddesses with snakey hair need love don’t they? Even if for a brief moment. I wonder if she had a ‘collection’ of stone faces? Nice take on the prompt.

    Oh, about my dreamer wanting their brother’s safe return – do we not all wish our family that serves, safe return. One can be a living hero, just as well as and perhaps better than a dead one 🙂

    • Being a live hero is definitely better!

      I suspect she had more stone faces than she wanted! Thank you.

      I’ve been thinking about what she could do if she did want someone to love her, and I think I have the solution: she just needs to find an attractive guy who’s also blind. That should work, shouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

