Halloween Hand of Horror

Well, you never know what’s going to happen when you click on Internet links. Again, today’s post isn’t what I had planned – I got waylaid by another irresistible oddity. Meatloaf, this time.

No, really. Strange meatloaf. Four years ago, Megan over at “not martha” came up with the ultimate Hallowe’en dinner, and I more-or-less copied her genius last night.

HalloweenHandOfHorrorYou start with your usual meatloaf mixture…probably non-carnivores could use their favorite veggieburger mix, though that seems kind of off – this dish is all about looking gruesome. Megan packed her meatloaf into a special mold, but I just shaped mine in the pan to look like a big clutching hand.

There are two details that really make this concoction work. First, the fingernails. I took half the outer layer of a large onion (well, really a quarter of the layer – I had used about half of the onion earlier for this’n’that). Cut the onion layer into five segments and trim them into fingernail-like chunks, then put them on the meatloaf. Don’t worry, they’ll stay put.

About halfway through the baking, I checked on the hand and realized that Megan was right – a catsup glaze really adds to the effect, so I spread some on. (She also topped her meatloaf with sliced cheese; I didn’t.)

HalloweenMeatloafOfHorrorCookedAnd here, in all its gory glory, is The Hand. Not something I’d make any other time of year, but last night it was a huge hit with my husband and son.

 

10 responses to “Halloween Hand of Horror

  1. that looks rather gruesome i am glad i am not coming for dinner, although i can think of a number of young men who would think it was amazing πŸ™‚

  2. How gruesome, especially as i don’t eat meat! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Yes – I thought of you while writing the post (that’s part of where the veggieburger idea came from – also, I know some vegetarians in my offline life). Part of Halloween in this chunk of the world is playing around with pseudo-gruesomeness…thus the meatloaf hand πŸ˜‰

  3. I could see that it would be a hit.

Leave a Reply

