Friday Fictioneers: Poseidon’s Fury

Time for Friday Fictioneers again – and another unusual photo to inspire hundred-word stories. Go over to Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s site, read the other contributions, and try your own mini-story! Here’s mine – please let me know what you think of it.

sandra-crook-3Poseidon’s Fury

Oh, the earthquake. I was dictating my new play to my scribe, when the ground rolled under my feet. I had to throw my arms around an olive tree to keep from falling. But that was only the beginning, just Poseidonโ€™s joke. Next he was angry – cracks ran through the olive grove, and in the town walls and pillars broke and fell.

Anyway, thatโ€™s how the theater was ruined. We had to cancel the festival for this year and offer extra sacrifices so the gods wonโ€™t resent losing the entertainment. And I know my play would have won!

* * *

In ancient Greece, earthquakes were thought to be caused by Poseidon, the god of the sea.

Ancient Greek play writing was competitive – I suppose it still is, but today we don’t hold a formal contest to decide who wrote the best play of the year!

21 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Poseidon’s Fury

  1. Great Sharon, I can imagine this clearly!

  2. Lovely story, enjoyed the notion of the playwright believing she would have won. Well done.

  3. Dear Sharon,

    You need a comma somewhere in town, near all those broken pillars.

    Good story, though. I was hanging on to the olive tree with you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Dear Sharon,

    Maybe they don’t have contests like that in Greece, but here we call them the Academy Awards and the Tony. You had me hanging onto my chair. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Let the battle of the plays begin ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh, the power of the Gods. Living in California, I fear the almighty earthquake! Nice story and take on the prompt.

    • Well – at this late date, I think the Greek gods will leave you alone! ๐Ÿ˜‰ This particular earthquake is long gone – my idea is that it’s the 226 BC earthquake that destroyed the Colossus of Rhodes. Glad you like it.

  7. But wouldnโ€™t it be great fun if we did.

  8. Good one, Sharon. Once again, I’m not disappointed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    janet

  9. I’ve lost count of the times I would have won writing contests had it not been for earthquakes … ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Sorry, nice, light funny story. Thanks. Ann

Leave a Reply

