Yesterdaily post: Talents I wish I had…

(With thanks to the one and only Rarasaur. Without her, I would have overlooked this WordPress daily post suggestion – “tell us about a talent you’d love to have, but don’t” – entirely. As it is, I’m only a day late…)

Oh, there are lots of things I wish I could do effortlessly. Draw. Run. Make my hair do what I want it to do. (We’ve come to an understanding, my hair and me. IĀ  wash and brush it as needed and let it do pretty much what it prefers, and it sits on top of my head and points in various directions and smirks.) But none of those is the biggie, the talent I long to have and never expect to master.

If I only could get organized. (To the tune of that song from the Wizard of Oz, you know, the one the scarecrow sings. Or maybe each of Dorothy’s buddies gets a verse of his own. If I were organized, I’d know, wouldn’t I?)

PeterthegreateggBut I’m not organized. I tackle all sorts of things…I write, I blog, I take photos, I bake, I knit, I, I, I get interested in a lot of stuff. Shiny! The world is so full of a number of things, as that poet, you know, Whitman, or Stevenson, or Plath, said. And I want to play with most of them.

Focus, I don’t got it. If only I could just set most of my mental toys gently but firmly to one side and concentrate on the most important. I’m not so sure that would work well, though.

Faberge+egg+main Imperial Easter EggHow do you cope when you’re working hard on a project and reach a dead end, a puzzle you don’t see how to solve? Well, I need to concentrate on something completely different – then my mind wanders off exploring and comes back with solutions to unrelated problems. When I force myself to drive grimly straight ahead toward one goal, I wind up exhausted, depressed, and incompetent. When I keep juggling, sooner or later one of my problem balls hatches like a Czarist jeweled Easter egg…shiny!…and hands me an answer.

Memory of Azov egg

Maybe my best plan is to treat my mind like my hair: just learn to live with its quirks.

14 responses to “Yesterdaily post: Talents I wish I had…

  1. You’re focused on experiencing all the shiny of the world! I vote that your dedication to that pursuit count as focus. šŸ˜€

  2. It’s nice to know someone else is as ‘normal’ as i am then :). I teach a 40 minute lesson each Sunday but i start reading the material for it on Monday and then let it sit until Friday hits me in the butt and tells me i had better get on with it šŸ™‚

  3. I can totally empathise with you and your hair and I love the way you describe it šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  4. I often wish to be good at one thing rather than so-so at twenty things. But there must be some benefits to being a generalist. For example: I can answer a surprising number of the strange questions children ask; I can find a title to enjoy in almost any random shelf of old books; there’s a constructive activity to do whatever the season, weather, time of day or budget …
    How about you?

    • Oh yes – there are usually at least five constructive activities I can easily think of! (As for budget – if you’ve already overbought yarn and books, knitting and reading are essentially free, aren’t they?) (And I dearly love random shelves of old books, and have them in almost every room of the house, aside from the tantalizing assortments in used book shops, and not to mention the town book sale coming up in two weeks šŸ™‚ ) Actually, I do know what my primary goal is: write an assortment of novels that other people will enjoy reading. But, at least at this stage and probably always, I need time for the plot and characters to take shape somewhere beyond my conscious control – which is one of the all-time great excuses for being a highly distractable generalist šŸ˜‰

  5. A wandering mind that solves unrelated problems? Yep…I have one of those too. I shall take your advice and live with the quirks.

    • It’s the best (maybe the only?) problem solving technique I have šŸ˜‰ As for living with the quirks, I’m not sure if I’m practical or lazy – but then again, I’m not sure I care which it is! As long as it works.

  6. I totally have the same problem. I can never quite focus on anything. It’s so fun to be able to dabble in stuff. I’m a great believer in just doing something that you enjoy and enables you to jump between all of those things.
    So glad to know I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

