Travel themes: Multicolored

It’s one of those “go wild” weeks in travel themes πŸ˜€ – Ailsa is asking for multicolored photos. My kind of request!

ColorfulBadlandsAug03The Badlands in South Dakota. I’ve seen white sand before. I’ve seen yellow sand. But pink sand, delicately separating white and yellow? That’s what made this picture worth taking.

ColorfulWmsbgFlowers1Then there was this garden in Williamsburg, Virginia – I think the basic idea was “Let’s see how many different shapes and colors we can squeeze into the smallest possible area!” It worked, too.

ColorfulGettysburgHouseGettysburg, Pennsylvania. Famous for battles, not so famous for wild color schemes. But there this house sits, right on a main street, showing off the brightest paint available.

ColorfulTubOYarnAnd this is kind of cheating…I only traveled as far as my basement to open The Stash Tub, stand on tiptoes, and click away. Maybe I should claim this one’s a souvenir of my trip to the Erewhon Islands, where all the sheep grow rainbow colored wool?

11 responses to “Travel themes: Multicolored

  1. The pink sand is unique. Love the collection of yarn too.

  2. I wonder how it got called the Badlands, it lokks pretty good to me!

    • It’s wonderful if you’re a tourist who wants to look at places that are nothing like your home, and who has a home to return to. Now imagine being a farmer who sold everything you owned to lay claim, sight unseen, to some new land. You’ve been traveling for weeks, maybe months, to get there. The surrounding country is looking more and more barren, but you’re clutching all the hope you have left. Suddenly the horses or oxen who have been pulling your wagon refuse to walk any farther. You climb out and stomp up to their heads, planning to drag them forward by the reins, and discover they’re standing at the edge of a cliff. Below, far below, is a maze of sandy hills and cliffs – colorful, but hopeless for growing crops.

      That’s the Badlands.

  3. Even the name badlands makes me want to giddy up there.

  4. lovely images of color – the Badlands landscape is my favorite – one of these days I have to go visit myself.

Leave a Reply

