Friday Fictioneers – Time Passes, Things Change

Back to the Fictioneers at last! (Who are the Friday Fictioneers? A loosely (dis)organized group who post stories more or less a hundred words long, based on photos posted by the one and only Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Try it – you’ll like it!)

My story follows – please let me know what you think!

lvbydawne_3Time Passes, Things Change

So here I am, temp agency security for discount retail, plenty of room in the aisles and the whole place like a big open barn. Used to be, stores were like palaces. High ceilings, marble columns. Crowds you could hardly push your way through. Tough job being one of their security guards.

Back then, I worked alone. Went with the territory. And believe me, I learned how security spots all the sneak thief tricks. But you get older, you get clumsier and slower, and getting honest starts looking like the smart bet.

I wasnโ€™t just a good thief, I was the best, so good I had a clean record. Just a little resume fudging and I got this job. I like it. Keeps me sharp without the agita.

Excuse me, got to go put the fear of God in that kid over there.

16 responses to “Friday Fictioneers – Time Passes, Things Change

  1. I think I like this character…intelligent and sneaky but now reformed! Very realistic; he reformed out of the necessity of old age. His story is very well told.

  2. Excellent and the last line is pure magic!

    • Thank you, Gilly! That last line – it was an afterthought ๐Ÿ™‚ I was double-checking the post before publishing it and realized that the end needed a little more punch…so our hero(?) hurried off to deal with the shoplifting kid.

  3. Dear Sharon,

    This was one of my favorite stories this week. loved the voice, the passage of time, the way your protagonist reflect back and finally, the way he’s going to go put the fear of god into that kid. Great job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. I know a few such.
    Yo touched a nerve there ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. As long as he remains on the straight and narrow he is the perfect security guard for this high end place!

  6. Dear Sharon,

    First I have to say how happy I am to see you back with us. Second, I think this is one of your best. You brought back memories of how department stores used to look. Your MC has intellect and style. Great story. Strong voice. Bravo!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Last line absolutely sells it.

  8. Lovely poacher-turned-gamekeeper story.

Leave a Reply

