Is this going to work??

Another fit of curiosity took hold of me recently, and I decided to see if it’s really possible to knit a pair of socks. So far, I’ve got most of the cuff done – the cuff’s only a few rows long – but I’m getting worried.

RedSockCuffThat little circle of yarn has to stretch far enough to go all the way around my heel. Is this thing really going to work out?

11 responses to “Is this going to work??

  1. Of course it will. Actually, I have no idea. Socks are one of the few things I haven’t knittted (turning the fingers of gloves is fun), and I’m confused by your photo as I’ve never seen socks knitted on three needles (or am I being stupid, is the fourth one just out of shot?). Good luck.

    • Thanks for the encouragement 😉 – as far as needles, at this point I’m spiraling around and around with the stitches arranged on three needles and a fourth needle (not in the photo, since at the moment it’s empty) as the “working” needle. I hope that makes sense?

      (Gloves scare me – those tiny little finger tubes to cope with. You knit them enough to consider them fun? I’m impressed.)

  2. I’ve never tried either but I’m sure it will work – make sure you show us the end result!

  3. No idea, but good luck. 🙂 Two more days until moving day and things are going reasonably well.

    janet

  4. yes of course it will, if you are making a shaped sock you knit a heel into it. nice to see you are having some fun 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, there’s a heel in my future – I tried to read all the way through the directions and got very confused, so right now I’m just trusting that doing what the pattern says to do will make the heel “turn” the way it’s supposed to when I get there! 🙂

  5. If you have a hand-knitted jumper, you could try putting your foot into the sleeve and see how many stitches that is and do a guesstimate (don’t look at me like that, I don’t knit socks either).

  6. Pingback: Will this work, part 2… | A Number of Things

Leave a Reply

