Friday Fictioneers: Hot Day

Friday Fictioneers again! And the Internet blossoms with another crop of 100 word (more or less) stories based on the latest photo prompt chosen by the one and only Rochelle Wisoff-Fields…please let me know what you think of mine:

anelephantcantHot Day

Lazy summer Saturday, friends relaxing at the cafe.

“That bike’s been here hours. Wonder where the owner got to?”

“It’s too hot to bike. Maybe they took a taxi.”

“Nah. An ambulance. Heatstroke.”

“No, a bike messenger rode it here, and got a call to deliver something way across town, so he quit on the spot.”

“No. The girl that owns it? She met Prince Charming, and he carried her off on his white horse.”

“His white Ferrari. With air.”

A waiter shed his apron, unlocked the bike, and rode away. “Well, that’s boring.”

“Yeah. See, that’s not really a bike. It’s an alien in disguise. That poor guy’s being abducted.”

“No, what’s really happening…”

47 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Hot Day

  1. a good story starts from all the imaginings that a writer tosses about
    delightful

  2. That’s how it all begins, people watching, bike watching. Nice one.

  3. Fun, fun, fun Sharon, you are so good!

  4. I love to play this game too!

  5. I like this very much. Like when you sit in a restaurant and make up stories about all the other diners…that’s not just me that does that is it?

  6. You have shown people’s longing for explanation in a delightful way!

  7. Wow, Sharon, it’s only Wednesday and here you are. 🙂 Very topical as well as you’re sweltering in the heat as are we. Sounds like the back-and-forth a friend and I often do on FB, with crazy story ideas and fantastical imaginings.

    janet

    • I’m kind of surprised myself to have a story up this fast! And yes, the weather right now definitely had an influence on how this story went 😉 As for the back and forth – I’m a little surprised to see (from the comments) how many people like to play that “weird explanations” game. Well, the more strangeness the merrier, right?

  8. daydreaming, imagination and story telling is so much more fun 🙂

  9. petrujviljoen

    Loved it! Well done.

  10. Nice insight into the creative process, darling — I’ve had weeks where I tossed out ideas left and right….

  11. It’s like they say, everyone has an opinion. Left long enough our imaginations can concoct some wild possibilities.

  12. heh, I liked this take on the prompt!

  13. Deaer Sharon,

    The friends’ game on a hot day put me in mind of the lines from Simon and Garfunkel’s song America:
    “Laughing on the bus
    Playing games with the faces
    She said the man in the gabardine suit was a spy
    I said “Be careful, his bowtie is really a camera”

  14. Love their imagination–and yours!

  15. Great Flash – enjoyable read! This reminded me of dual writes in the theatre/ scriptwriting exercise with dialogue. Loved the imagination and boring waiter reality in the end – or if it was an alien the unique and interesting idea even the entertainers in the café couldn’t have conceived! Brilliant!
    A Flash of Inspiration!

    • Wow, I’m blushing, or I ought to be 😉

      Waitaminute – do you think it might really be an alien? Hmm, if they can disguise themselves as bikes they can surely disguise themselves as waiters – maybe the “waiter” was eavesdropping on the table of friends to evaluate how advanced these strange earth natives are. I wonder if we came up to the aliens’ standard??

  16. Nice tribute to the human imagination and its many wonders on a summer’s day. Very good piece!

  17. Now this one was just a really fun read! (And I’d love to hear more about the whole abduction angle…)

    • Oh good – I wanted it to be light and fun! As for the abduction angle – up until I replied to neenslewy (a couple of comments above yours), that was just another goofy unserious explanation tossed out by the group playing “top the silliness”. I’d have to write a whole different story from the viewpoint of the “bike”, and maybe the “waiter” too – not today, maybe later? 🙂

  18. I love this. I do this all the time, everywhere I go. Watch people and make up stories. What’s more fun that that? Great piece!

  19. I love doing this with my friends.

  20. Exactly, that’s the mind of a Ff team 😉

  21. Chewing the fat, shootin’ the breeze. It’s entertaining.

Leave a Reply

