Friday Fictioneers: Dedication

Friday! Time for the Attack of the Fictioneers!

We’re mostly harmless, really. We’re only a vast swarm of storytellers set in motion by Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s weekly choice of – usually  strange – photo prompts. All we’ll do to you is expose you to a huge assortment of hundred word tales…and, just possibly, infect you with the irresistible urge to join in.

How do you do that? Easy – go to Rochelle’s site and you can read all the details, and then start typing away. Come, transform yourself into a Fictioneer. It’s fun! (Or, of course, just go to Rochelle’s Linky List to read all the other stories of the week.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Dedication

Our music teacher was very dedicated, but kind of strange. Ten or fifteen years of teaching kids with three left feet to march, plus battling with the school board over money for new instruments (the band and the football team got into an argument) – it all wore him down.

So when Mr. Dolber showed up at the dress rehearsal for the school musical, the English teacher who was directing didn’t even blink. Three-tone saddle shoes with floppy green bows? Plaid knee britches? Hey, he always looked like that, or worse. “Emory, this piano’s a mess. Can you tune it?” was all she said when he walked in.

Mr. Dolber always did throw himself into his work.

* * *

(With apologies to high school music teachers everywhere! And to Emory Dolbers, if there are any.)

14 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Dedication

  1. Excellent per usual. I used to do some crazy things when I was a high school teacher but never quite to this extent. 🙂

    janet

    • Aw, thanks, Janet! I had some strange high school teachers – there was the woman who always wore purple, and the biology teacher who used a stuffed bird on a stick as his hall pass (NOBODY ever asked to be excused from his class!), but nothing like Mr. Dolber. I figured the weirdness of the picture called for some serious exaggeration.

  2. Oh, lovely. A great little story.

  3. Actually, I think it’s a fitting tribute to music teachers. Nice job.

  4. You created the atmosphere of the school and characters very well here. Plot’s brilliant in 100 words. The comments show how well the story resonates with others, too. We all have memories of eccentric teachers. There’s your paying public! I had a crush on my English teacher. Wrote this poem in later years:

    I fell in love with Pinky Pinkerton
    He was my English teacher
    He had a voice like Richard Burton
    When reading Julius Caesar

    Pinky had a habit of racing round the classroom and randomly ransacking pupils’ pockets. It could be very embarrassing! He once said to me that women should either be beautiful or intelligent and I was neither! Broke my heart. He was wrong about half of it: I have a first class honours degree. And my husband thinks I’m beautiful!

    Enjoy!

    Ann

    • Thank you!

      I have to admit that, to me, your Pinky sounds like a bit of a jerk for making that comment, but when we’re in our teens a beautiful voice makes up for a lot, doesn’t it? Yay for you (and your husband, too). 😉

  5. Dear Sharon,

    I had an art teacher in high school who always wore wide colorful ties and bell bottoms. Late 60’s-early 70’s. I don’t remember if he wore crazy shoes though.
    Loved this story. It kind of put me in mind of Mr. Holland’s Opus, my favorite movie to laugh and cry over.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Haha well it got his attention 🙂

  7. I know some band teachers and I think they will agree, it will make you crazy.

Leave a Reply

