Daily Prompt: Say Your Name – or something that vaguely resembles it

Is this the face of a Karen Cheryl? Apparently it is.

Is this the face of a Karen Cheryl? Apparently it is.

Today, WordPress wants to know what we think of our first names – “Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My first name. Sharon. It’s been a nuisance since I was seven years old. I have no idea how my parents chose it – I was all grown up before I met anyone with the same name, which may have something to do with the ways in which it’s been a problem.

You see, a lot of the people I meet just can’t seem to remember what my name is. I suppose the variations could tell me something about the other person – maybe the ones who insist on calling me “Cheryl” lose interest fast, before the second syllable. And the ones who think I’m really “Karen”? It must take a while for them to grasp what you’re telling them.

Or, of course, they might just never have met a Sharon before, and plug in a name they are familiar with. At least nobody has ever managed to jumble Cheryl and Karen and started calling me Karyl (pronounced Carol). Then again, maybe they do and I’m the one who fails to realize they’re talking to me.

Mamas, don’t let your babies grow up to be Sharons. 😉

(Of course, being a Sharon has some good points – mostly because you can’t make it into a nickname. I’ve known girls who were really officially named “Sally” and “Toni” – but some teachers explained patiently to them that they were really truly actually “Sarah” and “Antoinette”, which was news to each of them.)

13 responses to “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name – or something that vaguely resembles it

  1. I’ve gone from Janet to Jan and now back to Janet. And I’ve had people call me something close to Janet but not quite, which is always kind of annoying.

    • And then, come to think of it, there was the girl I went to high school with who introduced herself to everybody as “Susie” – her middle name – for the first few years. But come September of our senior year, she decided that she liked her first name after all. Suddenly Susie morphed into Iris…

  2. Pingback: A Handsome Name | The Jittery Goat

  3. Sahron is a nice name and over here it gets shortened to Shaz!

  4. Oops lol sorry Sharon! can you edit that taht ?

  5. Pingback: I Am Ramisa | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe! | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. when we first started communicating i thought your name was Carol! Sharon is very common English name but in the US i am guessing it wouldn’t be. I am named after a city in Yorkshire. My Dad picked it but always ive hated it and i’ve always wanted to be called Sarah.

    • Wow – my first Carol! It’s interesting to learn that Sharon is common in England – could my parents possibly have picked up the name from my Auntie Olive? (She and my uncle met when he was stationed in England during World War II.) I’ve known two or three other Sharons, but there aren’t many of us here. As for Beverley – I have a cousin Beverley, but it’s not a typical name over here either. Does it feel odd to be named for a town? It seems to me that it would.

      Hi, Sarah! 😉

  8. I have an official first name and a lateral-thinking mistake name which many people use to name me; I quite like it now and sometimes use it as an alias (though I have nothing against the official name).

Leave a Reply

