Silly Decoratoring?

I really don’t think about interior decoration very often. (I’m more likely to be thinking about things like “Where can I put these books?” or “I know I had another skein of blue yarn!”) But after writing last Saturday’s Friday Fictioneers story, I found myself pondering what sorts of decoratory things I actually do – and I realized that all the stuff I like best in this house (well, other than people and books) shares a certain eccentricity.

Silly Dining Room ForestThere’s the forest in my dining room – its date may be late September, or maybe early October, but those yellow leaves haven’t fallen for many years, and it’s never rainy or windy.

Several years back, one piece of my job involved building new PCs out of components. That meant that day after day, I wound up with a pocket full of twisties – part of the discarded packaging. So I used some of them to make a menagerie. Some of my critters are tripods, or have perky tails and big horns. Others have five legs and a trunk. I’m fond of them all.

Silly Couch FishAnd then there’s the couch fish, swimming unconcerned through the air in my living room. I hadn’t planned to buy a pillow the day I met him, but it was love at first sight, and home he came.

What are your favorite things like?

7 responses to “Silly Decoratoring?

  1. I like your mural and your fish pillow!! I have a copy of a picture of my great, great grandfather who was in the Civil War with Sherman on the march through the South. (And you just gave me my post for tomorrow!) Another of my favorite things is a coat tree made of an actual tree that’s all polished and beautiful. It’s even more special because we decided we couldn’t afford it the summer we saw it and my parents bought it at another time and gave it to us the next summer.

    janet

  2. I absolutely love the forest view and the couch fish is just too adorable! One of my favourite thingies is sleeping under his blanket on this chilly morning. Great post hon. 🙂 *hugs*

  3. I don’t see anything silly, only lovely personal things and I’m touched by your share 🙂

  4. I love the wall in your dining room. I remember years ago putting up some paper in my dining room which had small multi-coloured flowers all over it, at the time my husband thought i had gone mad, but everyone who saw it loved it. Things i have; willow angels all bought for me, 2 star fish, a fluffy cushion in the sitting room we call ‘the hug’, Roald Dahl stores on CD.

Leave a Reply

