Friday Fictioneers: Wasps

Friday’s come and gone, but at last I came up with a story to tell about this week’s Fictioneers photo. What are – well, who are – the Friday Fictioneers? We’re a tightly disorganized gaggle of bloggers who share stories we write based (more or less) on the pictures that our Fearless Fictioneering Leader Rochelle Wisoff-Fields shares with us. Want to join? Just look at the photo Rochelle posts Wednesday morning, come up with a hundred word story related to it, post your story, and add a link to Rochelle’s collection so we can find it. And take a look at the strange tales the rest of us come up with! Here’s mine – please let me know what you think!

wasp-nestWasps

My cousin Joe could do anything, except make us little kids stop tagging after him. He had a tube he called his wasp chaser, carried it everywhere. So when I found this nest, I wasn’t scared.

The wasps went for me anyhow. It hurt so bad. Then Joe was there, chasing them off, getting stung himself. He started gasping and fumbled the wasp chaser out of his pocket. β€œStick it in my leg,” he choked. How many chances do you get to stick a pin in a big kid? So I did it. And later everybody said I saved his life.

Maybe now he won’t mind me tagging along.

* * *

Oh yes! And this is my five hundredth post. Wow. Just a second while I pat myself on the back. πŸ˜€

23 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Wasps

  1. Congratulations on post number 500 but calling us disorganized is a bit much!! πŸ™‚ I like this little story a lot, especially the part about sticking a pin in a big kid. Well done (but then I expect no less.)

    janet

  2. And let me do the back-patting so you don’t hurt your arm.

  3. Dear Sharon,
    Not sure how fearless I am. However I really enjoyed your story. Good drama with a happy ending. Mazel tov on 500 posts and hearty wooohoooo!!!

  4. Pats from me too! well done and a great flash as well.

  5. Truly original! I liked this one a lot.

  6. Hey kid. You can tag along with me any time you feel like it. Save my life and I’ll buy you anything you want…within reason, that is. Well done, Sharon.

  7. Great story Sharon, I love the ending seems to be a moral there somewhere… Well done
    Dee

  8. awwwww love this story! πŸ™‚ and congrats

  9. Congratulations on 500 posts. I loved this story – I like the idea of a wasp chaser. ‘How many chances do you get to stick a pin in a big kid?’ is lovely – I could almost see the confusion and glee on your character’s face.

    • What a nice comment! And yes, my narrator does exactly the right thing but not for the reasons all the adults assume – so he’s left feeling a little startled by the praise he gets, but hopeful that it will work out to his advantage. (In a couple of years he’ll be mature enough to look back and understand what really happened, but not just yet.)

  10. 500 hundred! Way to go. and a good post for the milestone

  11. This is certainly an impressive milestone. The story was so good. I can see the younger kid looking up to the older one feeling they are flawless.

    • We’ll see how long it takes me to get to a thousand! I’m glad you like the story. I think we can all remember being on each side of that younger kid – older kid relationship πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

