Friday Fictioneers: Branching Out

Annnd – Rochelle has come up with yet another photo to inspire the Fictioneers to 100-word stories. Tell me what you think of this one!

gnarled-treeBranching Out

That tree. It’s not good for much, I guess. But the cows seem to like it. I just don’t get why they crowd together to lie under it. If cows were smarter, I’d think they were pretending the tree gives enough shade to stay cool.

It’s got kind of an interesting shape, maybe. Leaning halfway over from the wind on that hill. Makes me think of an oversize bonsai. Too twisted and battered to make good lumber. Not even worth the cost of cutting it down.

Wonder if they have bonsai photo contests I could enter it in. Let ’em think it’s little.

32 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Branching Out

  1. There are so many things that could do this (” Let ‘em think it’s little.”) if there was nothing else nearby to serve as contrast. I’ve always found that interesting.

    janet

  2. It does look like a bonsai tree. A creative and original story.

  3. Great tree! It could be bonsai. Imagination… 🙂

  4. Your imagination is the best!

  5. Imaginative take on the prompt Sharon, well done.

  6. Very good. We have a tree that looks like that one in my local park

  7. Never thought about this ! Great imagination 🙂

    • Aw, thank you! The funny thing, from my point of view, is that my first reaction to the photo was “that looks like bonsai!”, and I was frustrated that I couldn’t dream up anything more creative 😉

  8. maybe it really is a tiny little bonsai tree and Indira is a very clever photographer! Great take on the prompt 😀

  9. I’ve always wondered about the secret life of trees. Somehow of perception of them doesn’t do them justice. After all, who are we to judge?

  10. That’s quite an idea. I wonder if there’s any market for fraudulent bonsai pictures. 🙂

  11. I thought the last line worked as (is satire the right word?), to show how big the tree is in reality.

  12. Poor tree. It’s beautiful, but at least the cows have sense.

  13. What a beautiful post! If I could write like that no one would be able to stop me! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Wow – I don’t know if I’ll be able to get my T shirt over my head after a compliment like that! Thank YOU.

      • You are very welcome and don’t worry, I don’t think you’re the kind of person that will allowed it to go to your head. You are just using the beautiful and creative talents that you have. 🙂

  14. Dear Sharon,
    This one has me screaming “Bonsai!”
    Wax on, wax off to a fun little piece.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  15. An interesting perception

Leave a Reply

