Don’t believe this post

Because today NaPoWriMo is asking for poems that feature lies.

I have to admit, I didn’t write the poem I’m going to post. I have no idea if anybody knows who did write it. I learned it from my children, who kept chanting it with their friends over and over when they were eight or ten years old.

You know what? I find it almost as funny as those little boys did.

Early in the morning, late at night
Two dead men got up to fight.
Back to back they faced each other,
Drew their swords and shot each other.
If you don’t believe this lie is true,
Ask the blind man – he saw it too.

8 responses to “Don’t believe this post

  1. I love poems like this. Among my most treasured books are the orange Childcraft books containing children’s poems. I always enjoyed reading them to the girls as much as they enjoyed hearing them. Good children’s books are ageless.

    janet

    • Actually, after posting I did a bit of searching on the first line – this seems to be a bit of children’s doggerel that turns up (with variations) all over the English speaking world, and has been around since the 1800s. (So why didn’t anybody I grew up with know it?? 😦 )

  2. I can just imagine a bunch of little boys having fun with this!

  3. well that made me smile, my dad would recite it often when we were children it confused us at the beginning but in time we worked it out.

Leave a Reply

