Friday Fictioneers: Horse Sense

A day late, but here’s my Friday Fictioneers story for this week. Another great photo presented by the one and only Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, another 100 words of fiction to go with it –

thirstyHorse Sense

Well, okay, you never saw me do this before. But you have a lot of sayings about animals, right? Sly as a fox? Stubborn as a mule? Not that mules have anything to get stubborn about. How about sensible as a horse?

See, I’ve heard our legends…long juicy green grass, so soft and thick you can roll in it, so tasty you could graze all day long. Maybe there’s grass like that someplace, but not around here. But I figure if I can just water this pasture enough, the grass will grow. And after that, I’ll take care of those brown hills.

36 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Horse Sense

  1. Hey. I like your blog and would like to add it to a directory of blogs and websites of authors and writers. If you would like me to add your blog, just send me an email at jamespchesley@gmail.com. Let me know your name, genre and web address. Thanks. The directory is at http://establishingwriter.wordpress.com.

  2. Sharon, so glad to see you made it to the party. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see those hills lush and green!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend.

    jaent

  3. A sensible horse indeed. A creative tale. I like.

  4. This horse is gone become member of PETA ! πŸ™‚ well written πŸ™‚

  5. horse sense lesson to learn for humans here…never think impossible. β™₯ love your story.

  6. Dear Sharon,

    It is very dry in Lalamilo farm lots and all of the rest of West Hawaii. The dry seasons have been getting longer and the wet season shorter. Very observant you are.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Ok….I added the lush, green grass for you in my story. I could not bear seeing that poor horse in that brown, dry pasture. So many stories titled Horse Sense this week. I think I’ve seen 3 or 4 such titles so far.

    • That was so thoughtful! I’ll send him / her right over πŸ™‚

      And you’re right about that title…I’m not sure why it appealed to so many of us, but I’ve seen it several times too.

  8. Dear Sharon,
    Where was this horse during our drought last summer? There are five horses across the street and I never once saw any of them lift a garden hose. What’s up with that?
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  9. What a wise and creative horse wanting to trnsform his environment! A lovely piece Sharon as always.

  10. that made me laugh πŸ™‚

  11. So true…Horses are so much smarter than they are given credit for – just because they are smart in an inhuman way. Yes “Horse Sense” had to have come from something… They know what they’re doing; it’s just not always what we want them to do.

    • “not always what we want them to do” – I think that’s true of pretty much all the animals we have close relationships with, isn’t it? (And a lot of the people, too.)

  12. I’m sure the grass is greener on the other side… πŸ™‚

  13. I enjoy the spirited longing imbued here, remarkable given the brevity!

  14. Hahahaha…love it Sharon ! What an odd picture it is.

  15. this was the horse version of Archimedes

  16. This horse is determined to better his situation since his owner is not trying to do it for him. I like a horse that takes charge,

Leave a Reply

