Friday Fictioneers: As Good As It Gets

Here we go again, another 100 words based on this week’s photo –

lilies-lora-mitchellAs Good As It Gets

It’s nice to be next to the window. Everybody says so. The flowers I get can go on the windowsill where I can look at them, instead of squeezing them onto that tiny stand. I just smile and nod, but I’d rather look at the streets, way down there, too far to reach.

I remember. Being twentyish, the whole world ahead of me waiting, nothing bad going to happen ever. My friends and I could explore for hours, everything new. It was good being young. Now? I’m not stupid. I know I’ll never walk out of this room. But the window is nice. The streets are nice.

I want to go exploring again so bad.

42 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: As Good As It Gets

  1. I hear the yearning, maybe some regrets. Just a little more time. Good writing.

  2. loved the story. I moved my bed to what my children think is a strange position but i like it because i can see the tree outside my window from it.

  3. Sad one; but nice to get the bed next to the window. And it sounds like she’s got the right mind-set. Well done.

  4. This gave me a big lump in my throat. We can only hope for a good old age.

  5. Dear Sharon,
    This picture seemed to spawn a few end of life stories. I guess it’s the lilies. Solemn, poignant and well written piece.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • I haven’t had time to read any of the others yet (we were away for a couple of days and just got home yesterday evening) – I’ll look forward to seeing what other people had to say on this theme. I think what made me think of hospitals was not specifically that the flowers were lilies so much as the flowers on a very stark looking windowsill. Anyway, I’m glad you think it was well written!

  6. I’m not that old yet but I’m already looking back on twenties with fondness for times past! Great little story this week 🙂

    • I don’t remember being hit by nostalgia until sometime in my thirties – before that, things were obviously going to get better and better, at least if we didn’t blow up the whole world! Glad you like it.

  7. Lilies equal old people; or so it seems.

  8. A life story told in 100 words… the prompt seems to spawn stories about the elderly or death… Lilies are a source of trouble it seems.

    • In my experience, lilies seem to be popular funeral flowers – probably because they’re associated with Easter as well. I’ll be finding time soon to read the other stories and learn what other people had to say – life has been busy recently.

  9. Having just had a birthday, I’m getting closer and closer to this!! 🙂 I could really feel your character’s yearning, regrets, and wanting to just be able to get out!

    janet

    • Well…happy birthday, and don’t give up just yet 😉 ! I’m glad it was an effective story – I feel so sorry for her, even though (as her author, with inside information) I know she had a long and mostly good life.

  10. That’s it. I’ve made up my mind, I am definitely not going to get old! What? When did that happen! Good story Sharon. 🙂

  11. Yes, I do too. I want to explore, everything.

  12. nice Story.. it communicated the feelings well ! 🙂

  13. such a fitting title for this article! Great story!

  14. This was a lovely story and one that evokes much emotion, wistfulness and longing. Good job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  15. Great story, really enjoyed it.
    Dee

  16. A life of adventure reduced to a life of longing. Perhaps an accident has changed her life permanently.

  17. So sad. Well written.

Leave a Reply

