Reverse 100 Day Challenge: 40 days and counting?

Counting? Not really. Getting rid of things, that’s what I’m doing. (For an explanation of the Reverse 100 Day Challenge, look here.)

The project is going well, except that it may be taking over. Two days ago, I wrote up a schedule intended to get the whole house (well, except for the basement) cleaned up by the end of March. Oddly, so far – yes, for two full days – I’ve been keeping at it.

I’m not going to give a day by day diary this time, though. Just a summary: mostly what’s getting recycled, given away, or once in a while thrown out has been books and piles of papers – no surprise, since that’s what we have much too much of in this house. And then there were the oddities, like the pants hanger – I have no idea how it wound up with its handle sticking off to the side at a forty-five degree angle, but it’s no use to anybody. Trash! πŸ˜€

12 responses to “Reverse 100 Day Challenge: 40 days and counting?

  1. Busy, busy, busy. Don’t over do.

  2. I tend to say: if in doubt … throw it out. You’ll always make a mistake and ditch something you regret, however careful you are, I’ve found, but as the fine old proverb has it, ‘There are no pockets in shrouds’.

    • Yes – but it has to be your own doubt, not someone else’s. (Also, for us packrats, it’s necessary to be in the (temporary) Get Rid Of This Junk mood.) The things I’ve regretted throwing away are the ones I got rid of on the advice of a friend who is, admittedly, a spotless housekeeper, but sometimes shocks me by her willingness to jettison pieces of her life.

      As for shrouds – over the past few years I’ve become very much aware of the mammoth job I’ll be faced with once my mother is gone, and one of my goals for the current decade is to dispose of enough stuff so that my children won’t have such a big problem to deal with. On the other hand, there will certainly be things left that are valuable to me but not to anyone else – so it goes. (Insert probably nonexistent emoticon for resigned goodhumored shrug here.)

      • Definitely, I’d not let anyone tell me what to tip! I don’t feel bad about having more books than shelves really, but I’m appalled by all the stuff I keep in case it comes in useful, and the way hobbies proliferate equipment – the twenty buckets of glaze in the garage, the stash of different papers and papercraft equipment which I barely touch… Like you I think what a pain it would be for someone to get rid of if I drop dead suddenly – after all, it nearly happened last week when someone did a dangerous overtake coming towards me! Oh dear, I think I’m talking myself into turning out another cupboard…

      • Oh no – not another cupboard! I apologize for being a bad influence πŸ˜‰

  3. I really need to do an update, i am still adding to my pile of things or for the friendly bin and you are right a few paper backs frees up lots of space – for new ones πŸ™‚

    • Is there any better reason to free up space than making room for new books? πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ (Seriously, what I should probably do – but not right now, I don’t have time yet – is put all the books I definitely want to keep on the shelves and see how much shelf space is left over. Or how many books I really really want but can’t find room for.) (Yes, we have more books than shelves 😦 )

  4. I’ve been getting rid of a number of things and even some books but not many of the latter. Books seem to cling to my hands as if they’re glued to them. πŸ™‚

    janet

Leave a Reply

