Friday Fictioneers: Interview

Friday Fictioneers. It’s our weekly opportunity, or challenge, or obsession – use the photo offered by our Fearless Leader Rochelle Wisoff-Fields as inspiration for a story, 100 words long or thereabouts. (Interested? Hop right in with your story! Just post a link to it on the Fictioneers page.) Here’s my version for this week –

dsc04876Interview

Client shows flat affect. “Nightmares. That’s all.”

(“Tell me more.”)

“Just – they want to pull me under, you know?”

(“Who are they?”)

“Nobody. Not any more. They don’t even look like themselves.”

Some agitation. (“What do you think they want?”)

“What kind of good was it going to do for all of us to – well, we all knew only one was going to come through okay. It was me. Wouldn’t help them any for me to be under the ground too, would it? It wouldn’t help them!”

(“They’re dead?”)

“I’m done talking. Only, get them to stop grabbing at me!”

At this point, client required sedation. Pulse rate continued to rise. Resuscitation proved unsuccessful.

38 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Interview

  1. What an imagination you have Sharon, excellent!

  2. eww…I like this one..fav so far

  3. Dark. Nightmarish. And the ending suggests that the client was right after all. Good story.

  4. sinister 😦 but a good piece of writing

  5. Very nicely done, this scary story told through the narrator’s neutral voice. There are a great many nasty stories that could be at the root of this little moment in time…

    • It’s clear that the client has been through something horrible, or thinks he has – I decided not to use up any of my hundred words pinning down the details of his past. Thank you!

  6. Dear Sharon,
    Psychosis would’ve been a good title as well. Good job. I enjoyed it and would really like to know more.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  7. Our dark minds are as one this week, Sharon. Well done.

    janet

  8. Wow, that’s delightfully creepy. I can see it, with the expression on the statue’s face.

  9. Very sinister Sharon; looks like they got him in the end. Well done.

  10. this is so cool. I felt on the same wavelength with you this week, only yours is better!

  11. Crikey! I wonder what awaited him ‘on the other side’. Or what he thought awaited him….What a chilling tale, Sharon!

    • I don’t think the nightmare took him any farther than the horror of being dragged down to join “them”…which is plenty far enough. I’m glad you were chilled 😉 – that means the story worked! Thank you.

  12. A chilling take well told 🙂

  13. I loved the format of this one – an interview with a psychiatric patient – very interesting and well told 🙂

  14. I too enjoyed the almost staccato-like format to this as well. Made a creepy story creepier still!

  15. Sharon this was excellent I loved this, you drew me in immediately and kept me there. 🙂

  16. i love it. it’s dark and chilling.. great imagination.

  17. oooh, i see. like a therapy patient with a doctor. well done. can neither be proven nor disproven. well done.

Leave a Reply

