100 Word Challenge for Grownups: A Clear View

This week, Julia has given us a picture to inspire our stories for the 100 Word Challenge for Grownups. Let me know what you think of mine –

image011A Clear View

I was on my honeymoon – our honeymoon – when I found out Mike and I had seriously different tastes in fun. We both like sightseeing, but I like to be awestruck from safety. Mike would like to take me rappelling down the side of Mount Everest and exploring ice caves in Antarctica. As it was, I’d already fallen off a horse, twice, and wrenched my back when the bungee jump cords weren’t adjusted right, before we got to the Grand Canyon.

“I’m not walking out over thin air!”

“Honey, you’ll never get a better view. It’s safe. Don’t you trust me?”

And that’s when I realized: I didn’t.

15 responses to “100 Word Challenge for Grownups: A Clear View

  1. Amazing photo to write something about. Great story. Trust is a complex thing isn’t it! Your story is a nice reminder.

  2. I guess when you fear for your life, you learn who you can trust. Very good.

  3. not sure if i would go out there either, in fact i would trust myself more than i would trust someone else

    • It would definitely make me nervous – my husband would probably talk me into it though. He’s persuaded me onto scarier things like the Sandia Peak Tramway – fifteen minutes that feels like an hour, in an enclosed car dangling from a wire over some very sharp-edged looking mountains in the New Mexico desert. The view is amazing, though, and in fairness the closest he’s ever come to hurting me was when he persuaded me onto an amusement park ride that I could barely stagger off of when it stopped – I don’t ever want to be that dizzy again. So he really isn’t Mike in the story, but I do know what it’s like to live with somebody who’s not nearly as cautious as I am.

  4. Haha! I don’t blame you 🙂

  5. Tense !
    Sharon you left me hanging on a precipice 🙂

  6. Great last line. Pity she didn’t work it out just a few weeks earlier.

Leave a Reply

