Reverse 100 Things: Any progress?

Eleven days ago, I started the “Reverse 100 Thing Challenge”, or a modified version of it. (The “100 Thing” concept asks people to live with only one hundred possessions, subject to various exceptions. The original “Reverse 100 Thing Challenge” asked people to choose a hundred things to recycle; the – oh, call it the “Revised Reverse 100 Thing Challenge” calls for you to spend 100 days throwing things away, or recycling them, or giving them to charity.)

I got a bit derailed by getting sick around the same time, but I have been plugging away at removing something from my home (or someone else’s) daily through most of the past week and a half. Let’s see how things are going –

Reverse100ThingsMiscPaperMonday the 14th, I sorted through miscellaneous papers and recycled a small handful.

 

Reverse100ThingsPlasticGlassRecyclingTuesday the 15th, we recycled an assortment of plastic and glass containers (though I’m not sure if this should count, since it’s already routine).

Friday the 18th we visited my mother, and I recycled a foot-high pile of junk mail she had received (no photo, alas; there was enough of it to be slightly dramatic in a will-the-whole-thing-collapse-onto-the-floorย  kind of way).

Reverse100Things3BooksSaturday the 19th, 3 books – one to donate, one to recycle because it’s falling apart the way old paperbacks do, one to recycle because it’s horrible. (And I think I’ll count one of the three for the 16th and one for the 17th; those two days I spent either coughing or reading.)

Reverse100ThingsMiscPaperAndCoughSyrupSunday the 20th, more paper to recycle. Including the box for a bottle of cough medicine, which I emptied in the course of a week.

 

Monday the 21st I threw out things that were overage in the refrigerator; be glad there aren’t any photos. You don’t want to know.

Tuesday the 22nd, more glass and plastic for recycling

Reverse100ThingsOneBookand today, Wednesday the 23rd, another book to donate – this one actually isn’t bad a paragraph or so at a time, but it’s fatally easy to put down and not pick up again. And it’s not like we’re short of things to read. Maybe someone else will enjoy it more.

I can’t claim that the house is suddenly spotless, but progress is happening. I even cleaned my dusty computer cables yesterday!

 

 

17 responses to “Reverse 100 Things: Any progress?

  1. Good for you, Sharon. I find getting rid of things at someone else’s house much easier than getting rid of my stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • No question about that! (Come to think of it, I have a friend who wanted to help me clear things out – I turned her down because I still regret some of the stuff I trashed on her advice a few years ago. She’s ruthless about getting rid of everything. Other people’s things, that is; I wonder if she really enjoys throwing her own junk out, or just says she does?)

  2. congratulations Sharon! that must be very satisfying.
     
    i have been doing some recycling/reducing as well. my big thing is books. i love them to pieces, and i have collected many of them. but they take up so much space. so i have selected those books which i want to keep. if that sounds very impressively downsized, it is, however there are still probably at least 100 of them or more. but they fit in the book case, so they will keep for now. now there is the matter of sorting through the remainder of them to see if they are worth recycling in a local used book bin, or if they should be recycled in the used paper/cardboard bins.
     
    but every bit helps! keep up the great work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you!

      Books. Oh yes, books. One of my big space problems is piles of miscellaneous paper, and that’s time consuming to sort through so I can separate the junk from things that should be kept. But the real space eater around here is definitely books…if I got the collection down to only a hundred, the house would feel so empty we’d expect to hear echoes.

      We love books.

  3. What a great challenge. Maybe I will be able to recycle some of my husbands computer stuff. Good luck with your progress. Let us know how you do.

    • Thanks! I do plan to continue posting updates like this, partly to keep myself working at the project ๐Ÿ˜‰ – roughly once a week, I think. I had originally intended to put up daily posts on the Great Clearance, but that’s overkill.

  4. It sounds like you got some cleaning done. Good for you.

  5. Ah yes, I’m a bit resistant to getting down behind the computer! well done for getting shot of junk, it is a nice feeling when it gets done ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Computer cables = guaranteed mess! When I set up new PCs on my last job, I always made a point of keeping the cables all nice and neat and parallel…and the next time that user had a problem and I had to crawl under their desk to check out the connections, somehow all the cables would be snarled and tangled and knotted around each other. I never understood how that happened.

  6. Well done and fellow-feeling over here – stacks of jigsaws and books are piled in the corridor waiting for my next trip to the charity shop.

  7. congratulations and a round of applause. Not at home just now so my list will have to wait for another day. Its about clearing space and that is what you are doing x

Leave a Reply

