100 Word Challenge for Grownups: Lessons

I haven’t participated in the 100 Word Challenge for a week or two. Time to get back on track! This week, Julia asks us to add 100 words to the prompt “…the notes from the piano…” to make a very small story. Hmmm. Where is that piano? Who’s playing it – and what kind of music are they playing? Here’s my answer – please let me know what you think!

Lessons

The notes from the piano in the studio downstairs drifted through the floor. Sounds charming, right? Well, no. Scales, G to G, drifted through the floor. Over and over, up and down. And every time, the same wrong note. I burrowed into the pillows, coughed some more, and tried to sleep.

Finally the hour’s lesson was over. Blessed silence. No – footsteps stomping up the old stairs. A fist banging on my door. I pulled on a robe and staggered out to answer.

“Look, I’ve been hearing you cough all afternoon. Are you – no, I can see you’re not okay. Do you need help? What can I get you?”

15 responses to “100 Word Challenge for Grownups: Lessons

  1. Ha! Brilliant ending as always….and the beginning and middle were good too.

  2. Not my ending but its your story. Liked the writing:)

  3. Nice the coughing bothered the piano player.

  4. Of course! very clever and a nice generous ending.

  5. Great story, I like your unexpected ending – both from my point of view and that of the narrator!

    • Thank you! To be honest, at first it was going to end with a nasty confrontation with the piano teacher, but I decided that ending was too predictable (and besides, this version took fewer words to describe 😉 ). Also, I seem to be in a “happy endings” mood with my poor characters at the moment.

  6. That is very, very funny! Tables turned!

Leave a Reply

