Reverse 100 Thing Challenge: Day 1

Beverley over at January to December has a good description of this one – “Instead of living with only 100 things you need to remove 100 things from your home. It can be anything, anything at all. It can be clutter that as been waiting to be removed, it can be things for recycling, or things to be given to charity. You also need to remove one thing per day for 100 days.”

Well. That seems to fit in nicely with my current project of Getting Rid Of Excess Stuff. So I expect to be posting the discard of the day for the next several months – that will mean more than one post if I have something else to say; oh well.

100Days001HandfulOfPensWe have a lot of miscellaneous pens and markers in the junk drawer, so I got them all out and tested to see which ones could still write. The good/bad news is that we have about two dozen things that can be used to make marks on paper (so I’m keeping those). But I did find a handful that are past being useful. Out they go, and don’t ask why I didn’t throw them away long ago when they stopped working. 😉

11 responses to “Reverse 100 Thing Challenge: Day 1

  1. I’m just the same, what is it about???

    • As far as I can tell, it started here – http://bemorewithless.com/the-reverse-100-thing-challenge/ – as a variation on the “100 Thing Challenge”, which asks you to, well, live with only 100 possessions, except that there seem to be lots of exceptions to what really really counts and you’re allowed to keep all sorts of additional items… (In some examples of the 100 Thing Challenge I’ve read about, the Radically Simplified person got around inconveniences like “What about furniture? Or food?” by staying in hotels or with friends, and eating in restaurants or at friends’ homes.)

      Anyhow, the original Reverse 100 Thing Challenge asks you to find 100 things to donate (and, really, I could do that easily with just books). Beverley seems to have modified the idea a little so that “things to throw away” and “things to recycle” count too – her version seems a lot more useful for my needs, so I’m doing it her way.

  2. it is all about creating space in our homes so that we can see what needs doing next – enjoy

  3. I should have started this when I started cutting back on things as I get the house ready to put on the market and move!! I’ve gotten rid of way more than 100 things (and many, many pens!)

  4. Pingback: Reverse 100 Things: Any progress? | A Number of Things

  5. Pingback: Reverse 100 Day Challenge: 40 days and counting? | A Number of Things

  6. Pingback: Reverse 100 Things – How did it turn out? | A Number of Things

Leave a Reply

