100 Word Challenge for Grownups – Logic

Usually Julia gives us a phrase as the starting point for our 100 word stories – but not always. For the 100 Word Challenge for Grownups this week, we’re intended to write stories answering the question this picture suggests: Why are the trees orange?

Logic

Two small boys in the park. “Hey look! They’re painting the trees orange.”

“How come?”

“So the trees know what kind of fruit to grow. These trees are supposed to grow oranges now.”

“What if they paint the trees yellow?”

“Then the trees know to grow bananas, of course.”

“Oh. So if they paint the trees red they have to grow apples?”

“And if they paint them purple they grow plums.”

“Well, how about if they paint the trees green? What would they grow then?”

“Don’t you know anything? If they paint the trees green they have to grow broccoli!”

* * *

Please let me know what you think of this one!

15 responses to “100 Word Challenge for Grownups – Logic

  1. I enjoyed it thoroughly — I remember a similar conversation with one of my sisters. I love the simplicity of children’s dialogue — very authentic.

  2. Love this! A broccoli tree- that’s a first!

  3. Hahaha I always call brocolli trees because it looks like miniature so this is perfect! Of course if I could command a tree to produce it would be greengages 🙂

    • Thanks, Gilly! Come to think of it, there’s an old vegetarian cookbook called “The Enchanted Broccoli Forest” (it’s named after a slightly odd recipe inside that features whole steamed broccoli stalks planted upright in a bed of flavored brown rice glued together with eggs and cheese). I suppose it’s possible that was in the back of my mind somewhere – I think I was just trying to come up with a punch line of “vegetable that lots of kids hate”, though.

      I think my preferred magic tree would produce delicious August-quality peaches every other month year round!

  4. That would be so easy. I would suspect it would solve a lot of the world hunger issues. A cute and witty story.

  5. Wouldn’t green be an apple tree? Lovely idea; opens the field for lots of wonderful trees.

    • You’re right, green could be apples, but I was going on the theory that (a) small children are more likely to picture apples as red and nothing but red and (b) broccoli is funnier.

      It’s a shame we can’t grow designer fruit trees that easily, isn’t it?

  6. Love this; the innocence of children.

Leave a Reply

