100 Word Challenge: Headaches, Part 2

Julia’s prompt for this week’s 100 Word Challenge for Grownups is

…. I woke with another headache ….

This one’s for Limebirdbeth and Scribbler, who asked for more of yesterday’s story. Yes, I’m cheating, I guess. 😉  Anyway, a little more about a wounded nurse in World War I, somewhere near the trenches. Let me know what you think…

Headaches, Part 2

There used to be a little stream, down the hill. I tighten the splint on my dragging foot. Deep breath. Skirts will hinder me, but female clothes might make snipers pause. The big guns? Soldier or nurse, they won’t care, any more than an earthquake would.

Crawling under fallen beams, out of what was a hospital once. Day before yesterday. Nothing looks the same. Artillery echoes through my bones. Hobbling forward dizzily, creeping up piles of rubble and sliding down the far side. Once I fainted. I woke with another headache. Water gurgles ahead. What germs, what poisons does it carry? I smile wryly – I’m going to drink anyway.

6 responses to “100 Word Challenge: Headaches, Part 2

  1. I’ve just read both stories… Is this the start of a longer story…? It really sets the scene well. I especially like the line ‘Soldier or nurse, they won’t care, any more than an earthquake would.’ It says so much.

    • Well, it wasn’t originally intended as the start of a longer story, but it could grow into one, couldn’t it? We don’t know if she’s going to reach that water, or how polluted it might be, or if she’s going to be rescued and who might rescue her and what happens after that…

      I’m so glad you like that particular sentence! Sometimes I surprise myself with lines like that – I’m not entirely sure where they come from, but I like that one too.

Leave a Reply

