100 Word Challenge: Hot Potato

This week, Julia at the 100 Word Challenge for Grownups is back to asking for a supershort story based on a phrase: “… suddenly it was in my hand ….” instead of a picture. Just to make it trickier, she wants this week’s stories to be funny – but if you promise not to tell anyone, I won’t either.

Hot Potato

It wasn’t my fault. What would you do when out of nowhere somebody shouts “Catch!” and you see you-don’t-know-what flying right at you? You put your hand up, right? So that’s what I did and suddenly it was in my hand. Bag full of cash.

What? You think I ran for it? Do I look stupid or something? Cops, they’re like dogs. You run, they chase. Nah. By that time there was this crowd all trying to see over each other’s heads. So I shoved right in with them.

But the dumb cops, they didn’t know how to act. They just searched everybody, and I had it, so here I sit. Whaddaya mean, what do I expect you to do? Didn’t they tell you you’re my lawyer? One of those court-appointeds? I expect you to get me out of here. I’m putting it in your hands.

* * *

I’d love to know what you think of this one!

17 responses to “100 Word Challenge: Hot Potato

  1. Very good as usual but if you try and hide a crime by committing a crime you are bound to get found out and he is in someone else’s hands.

  2. What’s that a fine mess you’ve got him into isn’t it? Very funny Sharon 🙂

  3. Witty story! Short and sweet, and suspenseful too. I want to know what happens next 🙂

    Adieu, scribbler

  4. The voice in this was really effective. Good one.

  5. Poor bloke. I feel quite defensive of him!

  6. I like the last phrase. Sounds like he’s passing both the buck and the cash.

Leave a Reply

