Travel themes: Foliage

“Foliage,” says Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack. “Show me foliage!” And I have a couple of pictures that fit, taken on various vacations –

Assisi, 2004. But this picture could have been taken almost anywhere in Italy – olive trees like this one are all over the place.

Maine, 2008. I’m fond of birches, though they don’t grow well as far south as New Jersey – but Maine is full of them. And I have an irrational enthusiasm for ferns.

I was startled to see that palm trees grow as far north as the southern city limits of Rome. This is the garden at the Catacombs of San Callisto, just south of Rome on the Appian Way.

6 responses to “Travel themes: Foliage

  1. You have done a lot of travelling around

  2. Lovely Post! Your variety of travels has made me see that foliage is more than just a lot of green. 🙂

    Adieu, scribbler

Leave a Reply

