Friday Fictioneers: Through the Gate

Well, yes, it’s Saturday now, not Friday. But here’s my best attempt at this week’s Friday Fictioneers – a little tale of a girl who’s determined to find her way into a world of magical perfection, with rainbows.

Your opinion is welcome, as always.

Perfect

I skipped with joy when I saw the Gate at last. Who cared if I looked silly to mundane bystanders? Soon we would be truly in separate worlds. I’d have a lifetime of wonders to explore, while here, traffic rumbled beyond the screen of trees.

Mystic wisdom glimmered on the uprights. I burst through. I could still hear traffic. Another of those boring informational plaques, just ahead. “Build ten thousand wonders yourself. – Confucius”. A crumpled beer can glittered at its base. Ancient wisdom, huh? I turned to hike back.

The gate was gone. Now the plaque read “You wanted magic? You got it. Learn to use it. And pick up the can.”

I’d learn. Somewhere I’ll find the real gate.

19 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Through the Gate

  1. Very profound and nicely told with a dry wit. Enjoyed that piece.

  2. Oooh now she does have a few lessons to learn on a long journey!

  3. Really well done for getting it written and out here 🙂

  4. Oh…poor thing. I had visions of Dorothy in “Wizard..”…then she was brought back to reality and the end made me chuckle.

  5. I liked the way you gave her a dose of reality. Nicely told with humor. I’m 27 on the list this week.

    • Thanks, Rochelle! After reading your story, I’m wondering if this is “dose of reality” week – though yours is a lot more pointed.

      I’m glad you see the humor – I think that was the hardest part to communicate in this one!

  6. Wonderfully written, a nice glaze into fantasy and then a sharp turn back into reality. Humorous and clever!

    Adieu, scribbler

    • Thank you so much!

      Of course, she’s now in reality-as-we-don’t-know-it; that plaque is perfectly serious about magic. (Then again, just how much does an informational plaque know? 😉 ) But her new magical world isn’t at all the kind of fantasy she wanted – there’s way too much realism in it for her taste!

  7. I don’t think anyone minds in the least bit that this is late. We’re just glad to get the chance to read it. What a great story. Hopefully she’s one step closer! 🙂

  8. I like the blend of fantasy and reality with nice humor. Very well written

  9. Curiouser and curiouser. I like that sign a lot. We need about forty million of them all over the world.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

