Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

I had trouble with this Weekly Photo Challenge – probably because I took the sample picture too seriously. It appears to show something “wrong” that the photographer didn’t notice until after taking the picture, and how often do we luck into shots like that? (I do have one around someplace – I didn’t realize until long afterwards that it includes the sight of a man being quietly frisked by a guard outside Buckingham Palace – but it dates back to the dear dead days of film, and without lots of dumb luck, I would need more than a week to locate that picture!)

So I had pretty much resigned myself to skipping this week’s challenge. And then I happened across this shot:

This was taken on the outskirts of ancient Ephesus in Turkey. As you can see, there are all sorts of hopeful souvenir vendors waiting for business. What you might not notice at first, given the shadow of the tree, is the oddly honest sign advertising “Genuine Fake Watches”!

I can’t quite decide whether that’s just plain wrong, or whether it has a sort of postmodern meta-rightness. Anyway, taking the picture was irresistible.

13 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

  1. Great take on the challenge! 😉

  2. My brain is hurting as I try to consider how it is possible to have a genuine fake! Maybe a fake fake would actually be the real article? 😀

    • Ooh – good theory! I think my interpretation was similar – I figured if you bought one of their watches you could be absolutely definitely sure it wasn’t the real thing!

  3. vastlycurious.com

    Good one!!

  4. Good choice Sharon! by the way, I bought a sun hat on that row of shops last year!

  5. I’m late getting around to everyone this week. This is so funny, glad I saw it 🙂

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge : “Wrong” – Am I chasing, the ‘wrong’ dreams? « Just another wake-up call

Leave a Reply

