186 Cookbooks: Who can resist?

Seriously, who can resist a title like “Forever Summer”? We may not long for the heat and humidity, but when you’re thinking about food, summer is the magic land of luscious fresh produce, more of it than you can eat, more delicious than you could remember after a whole year of waiting for it to return.

And the recipe I tested is so flexible it’s almost shapeless; it’s almost cheating to try it. I (mostly) followed Nigella Lawson’s basic recipe: marinate chicken in lemon juice, olive oil, onion, and rosemary, and grill it. (I used drumsticks instead of whole chickens, and white onion instead of red; I had white onion.) But Nigella tells us that she also marinates chicken in peppercorns, garlic, and wine vinegar, or replaces the rosemary with tarragon, or uses sambal oelek (chili paste).

I haven’t tried those variations, but this one is great. Of course, chicken, lemon, onion, and olive oil are available year round; but the rosemary was about as fresh as it gets, straight off the little rosemary plant at the corner of my backyard garden. So that’s definitely summery.

And a small confession: this cookbook could be classified as a ringer, if this project is intended to identify cookbooks I’m willing to get rid of. There are a few authors whose recipes match my taste so well that there’s no chance I’ll ever give up one of their books: Julia Child, Rick Bayless, and the wonderful Nigella. On the other hand, it is true that I bought this book a year or two ago and hadn’t gotten around to trying anything from it yet. About time. Yum.

5 responses to “186 Cookbooks: Who can resist?

  1. HI ALL IS MORNDAY ,,,WE THANK YOU FATHER FOR A NEW DAY……
    Psalm 27 (NKJV)

    27 The Lord is my light and my salvation;
    Whom shall I fear?
    The Lord is the strength of my life;
    Of whom shall I be afraid?
    2 When the wicked came against me
    To eat up my flesh,
    My enemies and foes,
    They stumbled and fell.
    3 Though an army may encamp against me,
    My heart shall not fear;
    Though war may rise against me,
    In this I will be confident.

    4 One thing I have desired of the Lord,
    That will I seek:
    That I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    All the days of my life,
    To behold the beauty of the Lord,
    And to inquire in His temple.
    5 For in the time of trouble
    He shall hide me in His pavilion;
    In the secret place of His tabernacle
    He shall hide me;
    He shall set me high upon a rock.

    6 And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me;
    Therefore I will offer sacrifices of joy in His tabernacle;
    I will sing, yes, I will sing praises to the Lord.

    7 Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice!
    Have mercy also upon me, and answer me.
    8 When You said, “Seek My face,”
    My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.”
    9 Do not hide Your face from me;
    Do not turn Your servant away in anger;
    You have been my help;
    Do not leave me nor forsake me,
    O God of my salvation.
    10 When my father and my mother forsake me,
    Then the Lord will take care of me.

    11 Teach me Your way, O Lord,
    And lead me in a smooth path, because of my enemies.
    12 Do not deliver me to the will of my adversaries;
    For false witnesses have risen against me,
    And such as breathe out violence.
    13 I would have lost heart, unless I had believed
    That I would see the goodness of the Lord
    In the land of the living.

    14 Wait on the Lord;
    Be of good courage,
    And He shall strengthen your heart;
    Wait, I say, on the Lord
    …….

  2. That does sound yummy! And so simple (I like simple). Which is why I loved your point about having the white onion. 😀 There’s not much more disheartening than finding a recipe you want to try…and then realizing you’re missing some crucial ingredient.

    • Oh yes! Over the years I’ve worked out a pretty good set of substitutions that work (and, maybe more important, ones that don’t), but there are times when trying a recipe demands that you go shopping. I think one reason this recipe intrigued me is that she makes it clear it’s more a concept than a recipe, considering all the variations.

      I bet lime juice instead of lemon would be good too….

      • Oh, gosh, yes! It’s often just as important to figure out what doesn’t work – in recipes, writing, art, life, even! – than what does. 😀

Leave a Reply

