Friday Fictioneers: Caravan

Here’s this week’s photo prompt from Madison Wood for Friday Fictioneers

Caravan

We traveled light. There was nothing to take. Water is heaviest, but there was no water to spare. At least the people of the oasis let us drink our fill before driving us out with what we and our camels carried in our bodies.

It wasn’t their fault. Who knows why water comes and goes? No, the fault was ours for drinking so much when they had so little and needed every drop. We slept on the shady side of sand hills in the day and trudged forward by moonlight. Would we live to see the green places where it rains?

* * *

Speaking of fiction – I’m plunging headfirst again into one of those writing marathons – Camp Nanowrimo. The goal is to churn out 50,000 words of fiction between June 1 and June 30. And yes, I intend to keep posting here and going on with the rest of my life. And yes, I’m nuts. πŸ˜‰ Wish me luck!

33 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: Caravan

  1. A lovely little story – and I have to add that I have been to Jerusalem in February – and the barren hills received quite a bit of snow some winters. Not much rain, but it does snow in the desert!
    Yours as ever,
    Lindaura
    who can be found here at: http://fictionvictimtoo.blogspot.com

    • Oh, thank you! And that’s interesting about the snow. Do they expect to get most of the year’s precipitation in winter?

      BTW – I love your blog name! πŸ™‚

  2. I like this story, an adventure that has so many possibilities. I love all of the different takes on the prompt. Thanks also for stopping by my place!

  3. Desperation and hope combining in a lovely piece. Good luck with your 50K words – gulp!
    Thanks for your comment on ours. πŸ™‚

    • Glad you liked it! As for 50k – well, I really need to get myself into the habit of producing more than a page a day! Gulp.

      The ending of your story is really clever πŸ˜‰

  4. A fine story, with a touch on the scarcity and ration of water. water is scarce in my country. Thanks. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/fridayfictioneers-my-pilot/

    • Glad you liked it! I’m not sure what kind of landscape the photo really is, but it looked to me like sand dunes with a town far away in the distance. Your story is beautiful – and sad.

  5. Good story. Water is more in demand than anything else in so many parts of the world. I very much liked it! Here’s mine: http://theforgottenwife.com/2012/05/30/friday-fictioneers-1-june-2012-the-conquerer/

  6. The quest for water is one that is always compelling.

    Mine is here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/05/31/flash-friday-fiction-3/

  7. A sad foreshadowing. Since living on a farm with a well, I realize we truly take our water for granted. Good story!

    –Jan
    http://janmorrill.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/flashfriday-fictioneers-the-original-pout/

  8. Great 100 words Sharon and good luck with nanowrimo, what a commitment πŸ™‚

  9. I think this may be my favorite Friday Fictioneers from you yet. Great pacing and word choice — the little details like sleeping on the shady sides of the hills were perfect for this. Really well done!

    Brian (thanks for commenting on mine)

    • What a great compliment! Thank you. As for details – I seem to start with too many and then pare away whatever isn’t essential. I love yours – the old warrior in one more battle.

  10. Those who have little of it can appreciate the worth of Earth’s most precious natural resource better.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    Here’s my Friday Fiction: http://logo-ligi.com/2012/06/01/the-standpoint/

    • Thank you for stopping by! Yes – one thing I was trying to get across is the way the narrator realizes that everyone in the story is influenced by their limited resources. I like yours – people are so good at distracting themselves from what’s going on around them πŸ˜‰

  11. Great story! I am in awe 50 thousand in 30 days! Without a real life break! Gah! My life would kill me!

  12. I was thirsty just reading this. I could see the flowing cloth head wraps, feels the desication, smell the camels. Well done.

    Here’s mine: http://thebradleychronicles.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/flash-fiction-friday-an-addiction/

  13. Just like JKBradley, it made me want to grab a glass of water. it was so alive. i could almost feel the sand and moon light. You are amazing with words, keep penning. and even though i generally do the marathon in November, i think i will join in the camp as well.

    • Thank you, thank you! It’s wonderful to hear that people are reacting to the story the way I hoped. I’ve been doing the November NaNo for years – don’t always reach 50000, but it’s fun trying.

  14. An eloquent example of how a story can have great impact using few words. It left me wanting to know if they finished their journey. Powerful and poetic.

Leave a Reply

