Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge theme is “unfocused”. I take lots of out-of-focus pictures – the challenge was finding one that was appropriately blurred. But here we are –

This statue (it’s in Athens, somewhere near the Canadian embassy – before I cropped the photo, there was a Canadian flag flying in the upper left corner) really is out of focus; it was taken hastily through the window of a moving vehicle. But it’s also meant to look out of focus. The statue is made up of plates of metal (? I think), unevenly overlapped to give a “motion blur” look.

Socrates might have disliked it, but to today’s eyes it’s effective.

And now let’s see if I can get it posted before the current thunderstorm sends me a power failure.

14 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  2. Wow, it gives the impression of a wind storm! Who knew unfocused photos could be so interesting? Here’s mine if you want to see it: http://designhouse9.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/then-again-by-diane-keaton/

  3. Ah I know, like thin layers! Very appropriate for motionblur then. Well done its perfect πŸ™‚ I get so frustrated when I snap from cars but sometimes its worth it!

    • There was a time when I refused to even try to take pictures from cars, but I’ve learned that once in a while the photo comes out okay. I suppose digital photography is what really changed my mind – now we can take hundreds and hundreds of photos totally for free, and if they don’t come out, just delete them!

  4. A perfect shot for this challenge!!

  5. Pingback: Guinea pig being ingested « Minutiae

Leave a Reply

