Well, being overloaded makes me a little crazy

And that’s why I’ve decided to participate in NaPoWriMo (National Poem Writing Month), which I just learned about half an hour ago. The goal is to write a poem a day through April – today’s optional prompt asks people to start with a line from another poem.

So here’s my first attempt, a tanka (a Japanese poetry form something like a longer haiku – five lines, with a 5 – 7 – 5 – 7 – 7 pattern), starting with “Slowly, silently now the moon”.

Full Moon Viewing

Slowly, silently
now the moon floods all the sky
with her borrowed light -
stars shining with their own fire
drown, washed away, invisible.

8 responses to “Well, being overloaded makes me a little crazy

  1. Beautiful! glad you’re doing the month, I will enjoy your work :-)

  2. i am going to enjoy this :)

  3. Thanks – first I’ve heard of about tanka having done a number of Haiku’s.

    Awesome form.

Leave a Reply

