Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate

This week, the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge asks for pictures illustrating “delicate” -

DelicateButterflyFragile, fleeting, beautiful. Delicate.

(I took this picture at a butterfly exhibit in the Smithsonian Natural History Museum in July of 2009.)

24 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate | Life of 24 Hours

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate (Light) « What's (in) the picture?

  3. They are so delicate and beautiful, well captured Sharon!

  4. Gorgeous Sharon. Gilly said it perfectly

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate (somewhere under a rainbow) « What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate… | Mirth and Motivation

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate | Humbled Pie

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate | My Blog

  9. Delicate butterfly on delicate flowers – great catch!

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate (Pétanque) « What's (in) the picture?

      • You are welcome. Which is better, the new pillow or the new book? Or do you make puffy books for toddlers? Marsha :)

      • Er, excuse me? Maybe you meant to post this question on somebody else’s blog??? :)

      • Sorry, no, I was wondering about your blog name, Newpillowbook. It’s a great name!!!! I like all three of tose things. new, pillows and books. And, unfortunately I just met you, and I didn’t read your story last night, just a few items. Forgive me, please for being so obscure!!! Marsha Lee:)

      • Oh, now I understand! And maybe I should apologize right back – it is kind of a confusing blog name.

        It’s like this. About a thousand(!) years ago, there was an amazing burst of literature in Japan, written by women at the emperor’s court. Aside from writing the first novel in history (the Tale of Genji), several of them produced interesting diaries, which they called “pillow books” because that’s where they stored the manuscripts, and I’m a big fan of Sei Shonagon’s Pillow Book – which talks about anything and everything that caught her interest.

        So when I was first setting up this blog, and knew that I didn’t want to concentrate on just one subject, I decided that it could be described as a “new” type of pillow book.

        Nothing about toddlers or real pillows, I’m afraid, though I did have a couple of very cute toddler encounters over the past couple of days. :)

      • hahaha! So glad we’ve clarified that! I don’t know if you’ve told this story on your blog yet, but it needs telling to more than just lil ole me! I love it, thought!!! I’m afraid you are way more literate than I. Well not afraid, but apologetic. I can not be afraid now that I know you because I know there is much to be learned from reading your blog, and I plan to read every post between now and next December 19th. That being said, so nice to meet you! Marsha Lee :)

      • Yeah – I never stopped to think before what a confusing name it is, but after answering you I added the info to my “About” page, so thank you for pointing out the problem. And please don’t apologize, I’m just your everyday book addict – one of my faults, really. ;) Glad to meet you too!

      • Addiction to books is a great thing New Pillow. I’m glad you added that. It was a great story!!! So now…. on with the friendship!!! Marsha :)

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate… » The Blog Farm

Leave a Reply

